科技

INNOVATEST致力于设计和制造传感器闭环控制加载的硬度计。为了更好地理解闭环系统相对于砝码式系统的优越性,我们必须弄清楚两种系统的区别所在。

光学也是制约硬度测量的一个因素。INNOVATEST的工程师们开发出了最先进的光学系统,可用于维氏、布氏和万能硬度计。但对于一些要求较低的客户,我们仍可提供模拟和电子显微镜。

1 / 5

卓越的研发中心

我们的研发中心坐落于荷兰的南方地区,毗邻埃因霍温科技大学和Zuyd应用科技大学,所有硬度测试设备的新设计、新技术、先进的固件及视频压痕测量系统也正是在这里生根发芽。

大多数的硬度测试设备可分为3-4个部分。机械、电路、影像及软件技术人员一直致力于开发使测试步骤更加简化的新产品,同时也使我们的仪器更加符合用户需求。

INNOVATECH 研发团队研发设计自主品牌的硬件及软件应用。所有应用于NEXUS和NEMESIS系列的技术都是我们R&D团队资深项目工程师的作品,其他电子元件和高级部件则由荷兰本部或世界其他地区一级代理商制造。

 

INNOVATECH 有能力为硬度测试系统带来崭新的技术创造。R&D团队也一直致力于为用户量身定制解决方案并详细介绍产品功能从而使其完美契合特定工作需求。

请联系我们的销售部门获取更多匹配您需求的硬度计信息。

力传感器-闭环系统

在工业化初期,测量机械结构的试验力至关重要。大约在1940年,一种应变式称重传感器被发明出来。用于测量试验力并将该力值以电信号形式输出的力传感器,大部分使用应变片来将材料变形/力转换成电信号。

19世纪50年代,力传感器应用于拉伸和压缩试验机。力传感器最理想的安装位置,是在与工件的连接处的前端或尽量靠近的区域。电子系统利用反馈信号来调节加载装置,进而得到设定的试验力。

基于闭环系统的优越性能,如今,所有电子拉伸压缩试验机都只采用闭环控制。闭环系统可以连续测量加载试验力,且闭环系统中使用的组件比砝码式要简单得多。正如该页面提到的砝码式系统,为确保运行正常,砝码式系统要求杠杆、轴点和零部件间的摩擦(相互配合)。

对于一台硬度计,压头是测试系统与样品接触的唯一部分,它是获得正确硬度值最重要的一个因素。为了消除结构缺陷的影响,机械方面的移动或其他干扰都会影响试验力,因此力传感器需与压头尽可能靠近。

只有这样,基于力传感器的优势,闭环系统才能获得最好的试验力精度。如将力传感器安装在硬度计其他位置,它相对于传统砝码式系统的优势将不复存在。

作为机器的核心,INNOVATEST工程师已设计出独一无二的非商业的力传感器和反馈系统。几乎所有的INNOVATEST硬度计的压头都安装在适合试验力测试的位置,并最大程度地保证了闭环技术的优势。

闭环系统的优势:
高精度试验力
力反馈系统确保加载试验力的准确性
宽泛的试验力且不受限于机械结构
简便的测试流程
对比砝码系统,简化机械结构
简单的校正程序

闭环系统的缺点:
对比砝码系统,价格更贵
需要供电系统

 

 

砝码系统

早在1900年,当使用金属硬度测试作为一种质量保证措施时(确切的钢硬度)砝码式硬度测试系统就被用于施加所需的试验力。原因很简单,砝码式硬度测试系统便宜且易于制造,且能满足当时硬度测试的精度要求。

然而,砝码系统的问题是试验力必须通过杠杆结构施加在试样上,并利用大量的活动部件得到最终的小压痕。将砝码系统产生的试验力转移到小的金刚石压头或球压头顶部是这很难实现,如进行洛氏HRC测试时需使用150kgf的主试验力。一个便携设备很难满足大尺寸和150kg的力,它要求设计者利用更小的砝码和杠杆来放大试验力。

对于进行3000kgf的布氏测量此问题会更为严重,同时,对于小力值硬度计,如需要达到1gf是,也是一个挑战。

杠杆需要支撑、导轨、轴承和其他产生摩擦的部件,这些部件会导致受力不稳定。

虽然这些偏差的源头可控,但系统中的任何摩擦最终都会产生不利影响,并在仪器的使用过程中越来越严重。同时,在砝码系统中很难控制试验力,因为要通过移动砝码得到所需的试验力,然而在没有过载或震荡的情况下是很难快速停止的。许多老的硬度计使用缓冲器(充油阻尼器)来控制,然而,缓冲器本身就存在如漏油,磨损,密封,温度影响等问题。因此,在后来的设计中,缓冲器被马达取代了。

尽管一些阻尼缺陷消除了,但快速测量的要求则对马达速度要求更严苛,所以,试验力过载和波动问题经常出现。电动砝码式硬度计的工作速度慢,不适合生产。一般认为,砝码系统的试验力是保持一致的,但这种假设很难实现。

因为最终施加的力是无法控制的,所以你可以称之为开环力加载系统。

砝码(开环)系统的优点:
– 制造简单
– 造价低
– 模拟系统,无需供电

砝码(开环)系统的缺点:
– 无法反馈实际的试验力
– 对温度和环境较敏感
– 测量重复性和再现性差
机械加载系统复杂且不便维修
– 机械结构易磨损
– 维护费用相对较高

 

集成成像系统

根据自动成像协会(AIA)要求,机器视觉系统包含所有工业应用和非工业应用,在此系统中,软硬件组合为设备执行基于图像捕获和处理的功能提供了操作指导。

机器视觉有助于可靠并持续地解决复杂的硬度测试任务。
虽然计算机视觉在工业和学术/教育及政府/军事应用中都使用了许多相同的算法和方法,但它们的约束条件是不同的。INNOVATEST硬度计的机器视觉系统集成于自动化硬度测量系统中,包含具有先进算法的光学系统,可用于压痕测量、工作台全景观测和工件识别。

我们使用了分辨率高达1800万像素的高刷新率的相机,具有压痕和工作台空间自动缩放功能。利用高亮度的环形灯技术,LED面板和精密光学滤镜技术,提供最优的硬度测量结果。

极低的要求
INNOVATEST大部分硬度计都采用了精密超高分辨率工业相机系统,带LED环形灯或LED面板灯,我们的基础型号如FALCON400450,采用了柯勒照明原理,该原理已成功应用于金相显微镜领域。

柯勒照明是一种样品照明方法,用于透射和反射光的光学显微技术。

基于柯勒照明原理,生成一个均匀照明光源来保证清晰的照明(早期的卤素灯和如今的LED灯都不能实现清晰的图像照明)。柯勒照明是现代光学显微镜领域主要的照明技术。

它需要额外的比较昂贵的光学元器件,且这些光学元器件或许还未应用于更基础的光学显微镜中。

 

控制系统

INNOVATEST硬度计可以提供外部电脑。任何用户都可以根据情况,选择使用我们的集成工业计算机或一个额外的计算机,只要使用的设备符合我们硬度测试系统的最低要求即可。

INNOVATEST强力建议使用嵌入式工业计算机,原因如下:

嵌入式工业计算机的优点

嵌入式工业计算机在制药、医疗、食品、服务行业和军事领域发挥中至关重要的作用。以下是嵌入式工业计算机相对于普通计算机或工作站的一些优势:

性能高效—嵌入式工业计算机通常只有单一的功能。例如,一台用于交通信号矩阵控制的嵌入式工业计算机,它的软件和硬件只用于此特定目的,因此它是一个最优化的设备。您需自问您是否希望在用于发射火箭的计算机中装上word,excel 或游戏吗?答案是是还是否?对于INNOVATEST,我们的理念是:用于机器或其他优质设备控制的计算机,有且仅有一个任务即控制,这将保证机器优越的性能和高的可靠性。

产品可靠—嵌入式工业计算机,一般是在恶劣条件下使用的,为确保能完成任务,制造商通常会增加特定的硬件来保证计算机的正常工作,如一个SSD固态硬盘,它可保证快速可靠地存储数据;一个在没有散热环境中应用的计时器,可消除由于移动部件或过热导致的故障。为消除任何过热问题,INNOVATEST的所有机型都使用了散热器。

耐用—很多嵌入式工业计算机直接被用于工厂和其他一些恶劣环境中,用于设置那些不仅环境恶劣,而且程序复杂的电子元件的操作中。基于这些应用,所以嵌入式工业计算机可以承受相当恶劣的环境。它们可以承受固定的冲击,甚至在移动过程中保持功能,且通过给主板加上涂层等方式减少潮湿和脏乱环境的影响。

更长的生命周期对于大多数嵌入式工业计算机而言,正常寿命约在710年。为保证了使用寿命,制造商们使用寿命更长的芯片来设计主板。这样的使用寿命是常规工作站计算机的3倍。

用户自定义– 与有一系列常规功能和特征,且能满足大多数办公室使用需求的常规的计算机相比,嵌入式工业计算机仅有2个主要功能,它们是操作,控制和通过专业软件采集设备数据。不管哪个任务,它都可以完成。像INNOVATEST这样的OEM生产商还可以进一步自定义每个模块的功能,让它满足我们的需求,如IMPRESSIONS™软件

INNOVATEST硬度计以嵌入式工业计算机作为标配,利用IMPRESSIONS™软件完成硬度测试操作。

因此,INNOVATESTIMPRESSIONS™软件可以在一个标配的电脑如惠普,戴尔或其他A类工作站计算机上运行吗??答案是可以的,但是基于以上原因,我们不建议使用。

Technology

INNOVATEST designs and manufactures, primarily, load cell based, closed loop hardness testing machines. To understand the great advantages of the closed loop systems over dead weight systems, particularly in hardness testers, one should understand the difference between both systems.

Another key component in hardness testing technology is the Optic or vision system. Optics are often the root cause of limitations in the hardness testing field. INNOVATEST Engineers have developed the most advanced optical imaging systems for Vickers, Brinell or Universal machines, but for less demanding markets we do offer highly advanced analogue and electronic microscopes to address these limitations.

1 / 5

R&D Centre Of Excellence

Located in the south of the Netherlands, close to the technical universities (TU) of Aachen, Eindhoven and the Zuyd University of Applied Sciences. It’s here where new designs, new technologies and state-of-the-art firmware and video indent measuring systems for hardness testing machines find their roots.

3 or 4 disciplines come together in most hardness testing instruments. A team of mechanical, electronic, optic and software specialists are working continuously to develop new products that simplify hardness testing procedures or make an even better fit to user requirements.

The INNOVATECH R&D team develops and designs its own hardware and firmware applications. All technology used in the NEXUS and NEMESIS series are products of the masters in our R&D facilities, while all electronic boards and high tech components are manufactured in The Netherlands or world wide, by top class sub contractors.

INNOVATECH develops innovating technology for hardness testing systems. The R&D team also focuses on customized solutions, allowing the user to specify a hardness tester that fits perfectly for a particular job.
Ask our sales team for more information on ‘’fit for purpose’’ hardness testers.

Load cell – Closed Loop Systems

Measuring force in mechanical constructions became important in the early days of industrialization. Around 1940, a Strain gauge load cell was invented. A load cell is a transducer (sensor) that measures force, and outputs this force as an electrical signal. Most load cells use a strain gauge to turn material deformation/force in to an electric signal.

During the 1950s, load cells where implemented in tensile & compression testing machines. The load cell would most ideally be mounted just before or as close as possible to the contact point with the workpiece. The electronic system is designed to use the feedback to adjust the force application mechanism (motor) to apply only the desired force. Closed-loop systems work so well that today all electronic tensile/compression instruments exclusively use closed-loop control.A closed-loop system can constantly measure the test force being applied, and also the components used in a closed-loop system inherently lend themselves to a much simpler design than a dead-weight system. As mentioned on the DEAD WEIGHT systems page of this website, dead-weight systems require levers, pivots and other friction-inducing components to function efficiently.

In a hardness tester, the indenter, the only part of the force system in contact with the test sample is the most important element for a correct hardness measurement. To eliminate the effect of mechanical imperfection, mechanical moving or other disturbance that could affect the test force, the load cell should be installed as close as possible to the indenter.

Only in this way the real advantage of load cell based, closed loop systems come to their maximum force accuracy. Load cells placed on other positions in the hardness testers mechanical force actuator, rapidly lose most of their advantage over traditional dead weight systems.

INNOVATEST engineers have designed unique non-commercial load cells and force application systems that are the heart of each machine. Nearly all INNOVATEST hardness testers measure force at the indenter mount location to assure the maximum benefits of closed loop technology.

Advantages of closed loop system:
High accurate test forces
Force feedback assures correct force is applied
Wide range of test forces not depending on mechanical limitations
Faster test procedures
Reduction of mechanical parts comparing to dead weight systems
Simple electronic calibration procedure

Disadvantages of a closed loop system:
More expensive than a dead weight system
Requires electricity

 

Dead Weight Systems

Since early 1900 when the use of hardness testing of metals came as a measure to assure quality (a certain hardness of steel) hardness testing instruments have used dead weights to apply the required test forces.
The reason for this was fairly simple, because dead weights are relatively inexpensive and easy to manufacture to the degree of accuracy required by commonly used test methods.

The problem of deadweights however is that the force must be applied to the test piece through a lever structure, with a large number of moving parts, to eventually a small indenter. Transferring the dead-weight force to the tip of a small diamond or ball indenter, for instance 150kgf main load used for a Rockwell HRC test, is difficult to accomplish. The large size and mass of a 150 kg weight would not fit in a handy instrument so it required designers to use smaller weights with levers to intensify the force to the desired levels.

The problem just gets bigger if the force increases to 3000kgf for Brinell measurements, but dead weight systems are also a challenge for designers for low force hardness testers going down to for instance 1gf.

Levers require pivots, guides, bearings and other friction-producing parts that cause force application instability.
Although it is possible to control these sources of error, any friction point in the system will eventually have a negative effect that slowly increases during the lifetime of the instrument. It is also not easy to control a dead weight application in a dead-weight system. Because the dead weight must be moved to apply the test force, stopping it quickly without overload and oscillation is problematic. Many older testers use dashpots (oil filled dampers) to control the application; however, these dashpots where source of problems on their own (oil leaking, wear & tear on the sealings, tempurature effects). In later designs dashpots where replaced by motors.
Although this eliminates some dashpot problems, the need to perform tests quickly makes motor speed critical, and as a result, force overshoot and oscillation are frequent problems. The motorized dead weight testers are also slow working machines, not realy suitable for production. It is assumed that dead weight originated forces remain consistent as each test is performed. But it remains to be an assumption, the reality shows plenty of problems.

Because there is no control on the eventually applied force, you could speak of an open loop, force application system;

Advantages of a dead weight (open loop) system:
Easy to manufacture
Low cost to manufacture
Analogue systems require no electric connection

Disadvantages of a dead weight (open loop) system:
No feedback on actual supplied test force
Temperature and environment sensitive
Low performance on Gauge repeatability and reproducibility
Complex & service sensitive mechanical force application system
Wear & tear on mechanics on a longer term
Relative high maintenance cost

Integrated Imaging Systems

According to the Automated Imaging Association (AIA), machine vision encompasses all industrial and non-industrial applications in which a combination of hardware and software provide operational guidance to devices in the execution of their functions based on the capture and processing of images.

Machine vision helps solve complex hardness testing tasks reliably and consistently
Though industrial computer vision uses many of the same algorithms and approaches as academic/educational and governmental/military applications of computer vision, constraints are different. INNOVATEST machine vision is an integrated part of our hardness testing automation and combines optical systems with refined algorithms for indent measurement, work stage overview and workpiece recognition.
We apply camera’s with high speed frame rates and of all kind of resolutions up to 18 Megapixels, automatic indent and workspace zooming systems. Ultra Bright ringlight technology, LED panels and sophisticated optical filtering methods to refine and ultimately provide the best possible hardness measurement.

For less demanding requirements
While most of the INNOVATEST hardness testing machines make use of sophisticated ultra-high resolution industrial camera systems, with LED ring light or LED panel lights, our more basic models like the FALCON 400 and 450 make use of a proven concept of a metallurgical microscope with a LED based Köhler illumination.
Köhler illumination is a method of specimen illumination used for transmitted and reflected light (trans- and epi-illuminated) optical microscopy.
Köhler illumination acts to generate an even illumination of the sample and ensures that an image of the illumination source (for example in the early days a halogen lamp and nowadays LED lamp filament is not visible in the resulting image. Köhler illumination is the predominant technique for sample illumination in modern scientific light microscopy.
It requires additional optical elements which are more expensive and may not be present in more basic light microscopes.

Controlling Systems

INNOVATEST hardness testers can be supplied with external desktop computers or workstations. We leave it to your consideration as long as the computer supplied meets the minimum requirements to operate our machines properly.

INNOVATEST strongly recommends the use of our standard embedded Industrial Windows controller, let us explain why:

Benefits of an Embedded Industrial Computer
The embedded industrial computer plays a crucial role in the fields of pharmaceutical, medical, food, service industries and the military, to name only a few. Here’s a closer look at some of the superior advantages that embedded industrial computers have over their general desktop or workstation counterparts;

Performance efficiency – In an embedded industrial computer, there is generally a single function for that device. For example, an embedded industrial computer for a traffic signal matrix has the hardware and software dedicated to the proper functioning of that particular purpose alone; hence there is an optimization of what the product can do. You need to ask yourself the question, would you wish to operate a rocket launcher from a desktop work station that has word, excel or games installed? No? At Innovatest we have the opinion that machines and or other quality equipment should be operated from a controller that has one task only, excellent machine performance with high reliability.

Product reliability – Given that an embedded industrial computer is potentially exposed to harsh conditions, and is certainly relied upon to accomplish its task without failure, manufacturers will often add certain features such as an SSD, for fast, reliable data storage, a watchdog timer and design it for fanless operation to eliminate the risk of failure due to moving parts or overheating. Mechanical heat sink as applied in all Innovatest machines eliminates any heat problem.

Durability – Many embedded industrial computers are used directly in factories and other harsh environmental settings which may not only expose them to harsher conditions, but also involve situations of rough handling for these electronics. Embedded industrial computers, depending on their use, are built to withstand fairly severe environments. They can be made to absorb stationary shocks or falls, remain functional even when in transfer via vehicles and are due to their location protected from exposure to moisture and dirt such as by conformal coating of the motherboard.

Longer product life cycle – For most embedded industrial computers, the regular life span of a model is estimated at approximately seven to ten years. Manufacturers design their boards with long life chipsets, assuring that the unit is meant to last. This is 3x better than the life span expectation of desktop work station.

Customizable features – Compared to general-purpose computers, which have an array of basic functions and features that cater to most office needs but have no use in industrial equipment, an embedded industrial computers has 2 main functions only. These are operation, control and data collection of industrial equipment through the specialized software to operate such equipment. With either one of these purposes in mind, nearly anything can be done with the hardware, then the OEM manufacturer, like Innovatest can further customize the unit to accommodate the needs of their particular industry or job by installing their proprietary software like IMPRESSIONS™.

INNOVATEST hardness testing equipment has Embedded Industrial Computers as standard controllers on board of all our IMPRESSIONS™ operated hardness testers.

So, can INNOVATEST IMPRESSIONS™ software run on a standard Hewlett Packard, Dell, or another A class desk top work station? Yes it can, we just don’t recommend it, for the above reasons.